By: Dustin Humphrey
If you have a child younger than 8 and between 40 and 57 inches tall then hopefully you’ve heard about the new Kentucky booster seat law that is officially in effect. Kentucky Governor Steve Beshear recently signed House Bill 315, which states that children within this age and/height range must be secured in a booster seat while riding in a vehicle.
According to the Kentucky State Police (KSP), the law is being implemented to prevent serious throat and abdominal injuries from improper fitting seat belts. And the law comes with good reason – Partners for Child Passenger Safety say more than 90% of 4 to 8-year-old children who are seriously injured in a crash are not restrained in a booster seat.
KSP says a properly fitting belt fits low on the hips or high on the thighs and the shoulder portion fits snug across the collarbone.
Drivers who are caught breaking this law will be issued a $30 fine with no court costs and can show proof that they purchased a booster seat instead of paying the fine.
The attorneys at Skeeters, Bennett, Wilson & Pike want to make sure you stay up to date on Kentucky state law changes. If you have a child within this age and height range, we suggest getting a booster seat immediately. It’s not just the law – it could be your child’s life.